Research Committees




Committee for the Protection of Human Subjects (CPHS)
Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC)
Radiation Safety Committee (RSC)
Biosafety Committee (BSC)
Chemical Safety Committee (CSC)
University Research Committee (URC)
Faculty Development Committee


Dr. Cary Wintz
Dr. Sondip Mathur
Dr. Amruthesh Shivachar
Dr. James Dumond
Dr. John Sapp
Dr. Linda Gardiner
Dr. Ladelle Hyman


Dr. Desiree Jackson
Dr. Halcyon Watkins ♦ Vet
Dr. Marian Hillar (Officer)
Dr. Jade Clement
Dr. Tuan Phan
Dr. Rochelle Parks-Yancy
Dr. Fennoyee Thomas


Dr. Claudette Ligons
Dr. Renard Thomas
Dr. Kasturi Ranganna
Dr. Renard Thomas
Dr. Xin Wei
Dr. Collette Bloom
Dr. Lillian Poats


Dr. Cyril Abobo
Dr. Shishir Shishodia
Dr. Adebayo Oyekan
 Dr. Jason Rosenzweig
Mr. Alus Dove
Prof. L. Weeden
Dr. Victor Obot


Dr. Selina Ahmed
Dr. Omonike Olaleye
Dr. Jade Clement
Mr. Alus Dove
Ms. Charlotta Mock
Dr. Melanie Lawson
Dr. Sigmund Horvitz


Dr. Robert Nobles ♦
Diane Nicholson-Jones
Dr. James DuMond
Ms. Charlotta Mock
Dr. Anita Kalunta-Crumpton
Dr. Jessie Horner


Dr. Robert Nobles ♦
Dr. Barbara Hayes
Dr. Jason Rosenzweig


Mr. Donald Ford (Alternate)
Dr. Mahmound Saleh
Dr. Vera Hawkins


Dr. Shirlette Milton
Dr. Karen Kossie


Dr. Daniel Adams


Dr. Kingston Nyamapfene














 = External Non-Affiliate and/or Community Member are required by the Office of Human Research Protection (OHRP) and Office of Laboratory Animal Welfare (OLAW) governing agencies.



Committee for the Protection of Human Subjects (CPHS) =  The purpose of the CPHS is to review research proposals involving human subjects and to ensure that proper precautions will be taken to ensure the safety and rights of participants. Such review is intended to emphasize the important role of ethics in conducting research as well as to protect the participants, researchers, advisors, and the university against potential risks and liabilities.


Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC)= According to U.S. federal law, institutions that use laboratory animals for research or instructional purposes must establish an Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC) to oversee and evaluate all aspects of the institution's animal care and use program. Each institution that receives Public Health Service (PHS) support for activities involving vertebrate animals or is subject to the authority of the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) must operate an animal care and use program with clear lines of authority and responsibility. The program must include:

  • a properly constituted and functioning Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC);
  • procedures for self monitoring;
  • an adequate veterinary care program
  • an occupational health and safety program
  • a personnel training program
  • an environment, housing and management program for animals; and
  • appropriately maintained facilities for housing and support.
Radiation Safety Committee (RSC)= The RSC collectively assumes responsibility from the standpoint of radiological safety for the University involving radioactivity or radiation-producing devices. The Committee reviews and approves applications for Radioactive Material License (or License Renewal),and amendments to the radioactive materials license to be submitted to the Texas Bureau of Radiation Control. The committee reviews and grants permission or disapproves the use of radioactivity or radiation producing devices within Texas Southern University, the Committee reviews and prescribes special conditions, requirements and restrictions that will be necessary to protect TSU personnel and the general population from health hazards associated with radioactivity and radiation producing devices located at Texas Southern University, including but not restricted to accelerators, reactors and x-ray devices. Such condition requirements and restrictions shall be made in accordance with State, Federal and City regulations. The committee prepares and disseminates information on radiological protection and provides training for the use and guidance of staff and students, the committee reviews and approves the Radiation Safety Manual. When and where necessary the Committee has the authority to form a Radiation Subcommittee to develop and propose amendments to the Radiation Safety Manual as deemed required.

Biosafety Committee (BSC) = The purpose of the committee is to specify practices for construction and handling biosafety materials.

Chemical Safety Committee (CSC) = The purpose of the committee is to specify practices for handling chemicals.

University Research Committee (URC) = The University Research Committee consists of research coordinators from each College/ School along with the Associate Provost for Research. The Research Committee is responsible for the oversight, implementation and refinement of the University’s Comprehensive Research Plan. Additionally, they periodically evaluate the research agenda and facilitate the Seed Grant award process. 

Additional Committee Resources