University Calendar
TSU NEWS

 

University Calendar 2017


 
TSU Events at a Glance for March 2017 - June 2017  

Monday, January 30 - Sunday, April 30, 2017
Gridiron Glory: "The Best of the Pro Football Hall of Fame"
University Museum, 10:00 a.m - 8:00 p.m. M-S; 10:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. Sun.

Monday, March 27 - Friday, March 31, 2017
College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Week 
For information on the full schedule of events and locations, email cophsoss@tsu.edu

Tuesday, March 28 - Thursday, March 30, 2017
Research Week - "One World Connected Through Research" 
Abstracts and registration must be submitted by March 10 to owerbachd@tsu.edu

2nd annual Intra-Collegiate Conference
From the Middle Passage to Black Lives Matter II
For complete schedule, contact Debra Cartwright at 713-313-4282

Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Faculty Senate Elections 
Robert J. Terry Library, 7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. 

School of Public Affairs Research Day
"Where are we going? Black females in Criminology and Criminal Justice
Public Affairs McCoy Auditorium, Room 114, 5:30 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.
For more information contact Dr. Jeffrey Lowe at lowejs@tsu.edu

Thursday, March 30, 2017 
Honors Day Convocation 
H&PE Arena, 1:00 p.m. 
HONOREES LINEUP STARTS AT NOON
For more information contact the Honors College at 713-313-6725

Saturday, April 1, 2017
TSU Choir Concert - Festivals of Spirituals Concert
St. Luke Community United Methodist Church, 3:00 p.m. 
5710 East R. L. Thornton Freeway, Dallas 75223

Monday, April 3, 2017
Poetry Reading and Q&A with Gregory Pardlo
MLK Bldg. Room 104, Noon - 1:00 p.m
 

Frederick Douglass Lecture Series
Dr. Erica Cassimere "Targeting Breast Cancer from the Inside Out"
Honors College Auditorium, 11:00 a.m. 

Tuesday, April 4 - Wednesday, April 5, 2017
Houston Money Week
JHJ Auditorium and TMSL Auditorium
Contact Muriel Funches at 713-313-6750 for more information

Wednesday, April 5, 2017
El Club de Espanol International Festival
Student Center Tiger Walk, Noon

TMSL Faculty Series
"Policing and the Exclusionary Rule" - Julian A. Cook III, Georgia School of Law
TMSL Room 203, Noon - 12:50 p.m.

Guide to Apartment Hunting
Office of Student Financial Assistance, West Garage first floor
For more information, contact Dischunara Brown at 713-313-4419

Thursday, April 6, 2017
Graduate and Professional School Fair
Science Building Foyer, 10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. 
For more information, contact the Graduate School at gradstudentgov@tsu.edu

Thursday, April 6, 2017 - Sunday, April 9, 2017
TSU Theater presents: The Last Days of Judas Iscariot 
The DeLuxe Theater, 3303 Lyons Ave., Houston 77002

Friday, April 7 - Saturday, April 8, 2017
Wesley Foundation Freshmen Retreat
Carolina Christian Camp, Huntsville, TX
For more information, contact Julius Wardley at julius.wardley@gmail.com or 832-588-6413

Wednesday, April 12, 2017
Sharing Wisdom with High School Students 
Wesley Foundation, 4:30 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Thursday, April 13, 2017
Technology Showcase
Student Center, 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. 

Friday, April 14, 2017
Good Friday Holiday
Campus closed

Wednesday, April 19, 2017
Wesley Foundation Spring Networking Event
TSU-Wesley Center, 11:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
 

Thursday, April 20, 2017
37th Intercultural Communication Conference
MLK Humanities Bldg.
For more information, contact Dr. Humphrey Regis at 713-313-7435

COLABS Soiree - "Tonight We Celebrate Our Own" 
Tiger Room, 6:00 p.m. 
General Admission - $50; Student tickets - $15
For more information, contact Debra Cartwright at 713-313-4282

Friday, April 21, 2017
Thomas Freeman Honors College 30th Anniversary Gala
Honors College Auditorium, 7:00 p.m.
RSVP by April 1 at 713-313-6725

Friday, April 21 - Saturday, April 22, 2017
Ocean of Soul Auxiliary Try-outs
Rollins - Stewart Music Center
For complete details, call 713-313-7336
 

Saturday, April 22, 2017
TSU Choir Concert Dress Rehearsal
Riverside United Methodist Church, 9:00 a.m. - Noon
4920 Cullen Blvd. Houston 77004
 

Sunday, April 23, 2017
TSU Choir annual Spring Concert
Riverside United Methodist Church, 4:00 p.m. 
4920 Cullen Blvd. Houston 77004

Thursday, April 27, 2017
37th annual Ollington Smith University Players Awards
Ollington Smith Playhouse, 7:00 p.m.


Saturday, April 29, 2017
A Maroon and Gray Affair
Marriott Marquis - Downtown Houston, 7:30 p.m. 
For sponsorship and ticket information call 713-313-1361

Sunday, April 30, 2017
Music and Morsels: An Alumni Reception
The Deluxe Theater, 4:00 p.m. - 5:30 p.m.
3303 Lyons Ave. Houston, 77020

Wednesday, May 3, 2017
Final Frenzy
Science Center Atrium, 5:00 pm. - 10:00 p.m.
Security escorts will be provided to dorms and parking garages

Saturday, May 13, 2017
Spring Commencement Exercises
H&PE Arena, 9:30 a.m. 

Monday, June 19 - Thursday, June 22, 2017
The C.S.I. Training and Educational Conference (CSITEC)
Forensic Science Learning Laboratory
For registration information email mozayania@tsu.edu or jasmine.drake@tsu.edu

Events listed here are as of January 2017. To have your event listed, please send information to Kendrick Callis (calliskd@tsu.edu) in the Office of Communications & Community Relations.

Appreciatively,

Eva Pickens