University Calendar
TSU NEWS

 

University Calendar 2017


 
TSU Events at a Glance for February 2017 - April 2017  

Monday, January 30 - Sunday, April 30, 2017
Gridiron Glory: "The Best of the Pro Football Hall of Fame"
University Museum, 10:00 a.m - 8:00 p.m. M-S; 10:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. Sun.

Thursday, February 23, 2017
Conversation with Ashton P. Woods - Black Lives Matter and the Fight Against Anti-black Racism
School of Public Affairs Room 114, 5:30 - 7:30 p.m.
For more information contact Dr. Jeffrey Lowe at lowejs@tsu.edu

Get the Love You Want
Student Health Center Conference Room, 3:00 p.m. - 5:30 p.m.
For more information or to register call 713-313-6806 or 713-313-7804

Young Women's College Preparatory Academy
TSU Information Meeting, YMCPA Auditorium, 6:00 p.m.
For more information, email recruitment@tsu.eduor call 713-313-7849

Frederick Douglass Lecture Series
Dr. Monica Rasmus - "Healthcare Quality"
Honors College Auditorium, 11:00 a.m. 

Dr. Bobby Mills Book Discussion and Signing
"American Society: upside down" Essays on the 2016 Presidential Election
TSU Bookstore, 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. 

 
Thursday, February 23 – Saturday, February 25, 2017
TSU Theater presents The Door of No Return
Ollington Smith Playhouse, 2/23, 3:00 p.m.; 2/24, 3:00 p.m. & 8:00 p.m.; 2/25, 3:00 p.m.
Limited Seating - Tickets Sold at the Door - $5
Written and Directed by Thomas Meloncon 

Friday, February 24, 2017
Tasting for Tigers: A Scholarship Social (COSET)
Dionsio Winery, 2635 Miller Ranch Rd. Ste. 103
Pearland, TX 77584, 7:00 p.m. 
For information contact Amanda Henry at 713-581-0891 or tsucosetac@gmail.com

JHJ Charisma Camp - For Men Only
JHJ Room 128, 6:30 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Register with JHJ Career Office, Suite 330

Monday, February 27, 2017
Robert J. Terry Library Black History Program
Speaker: Dr. James Douglas
Library Exhibit Room, Noon

Tuesday, February 28, 2017
Learn How to Run Your Own Entertainment EMPIRE
Education Bldg. Auditorium, 6:00 p.m. 
For more information contact Office of Placement Services at 713-313-7541

Wednesday, March 1, 2017
Mid-term Madness
Science Center Atrium, 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. 
Security escorts will be provided to dorms and parking garages

Thursday, March 2, 2017
Commemoration of the 50th Anniversary of In Re Gault
Public Affairs Bldg, Room 114, 10:00 a.m. - 4:14 p.m.
 For more information, contact the Earl Carl Institute at 713-313-1139

Friday, March 3 - Saturday, March 4
TSU Theater Present: The Poet and the Rent
Granville Sawyer Auditorium, 7:00 p.m.; 3:00 p.m. 
Buy tickets online at www.poetandrent.brownpapertickets.com

Friday, March 3 - Sunday, March 5, 2017
NIRSA Region IV Intramural Basketball Tournament 
Recreation Center, 5:00 p.m. 
For more information contact Jeremy Lewis at 713-313-6897

Saturday, March 4 - Friday, March 10, 2017
Mid-Semester Examinations

Saturday, March 11 - Friday, March 17, 2017
Spring Break

Saturday, March 25, 2017
Shaundra Simmons Foundation Walk for Colon Cancer
Metropolitan CME Church, 8955 S. Frwy. Houston 77051

Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Faculty Senate Elections 
Robert J. Terry Library, 7:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. 

Thursday, March 30, 2017 
Honors Day Convocation 
H&PE Arena, 1:00 p.m. 
HONOREES LINEUP STARTS AT NOON
For more information contact the Honors College at 713-313-6725

Saturday, April 1, 2017
TSU Choir Concert - Festivals of Spirituals Concert
St. Luke Community United Methodist Church, 3:00 p.m. 
5710 East R. L. Thornton Freeway, Dallas 75223

Friday, April 14, 2017
Good Friday Holiday
Campus closed

Thursday, April 20, 2017
37th Intercultural Communication Conference
MLK Humanities Bldg.
For more information, contact Dr. Humphrey Regis at 713-313-7435

Friday, April 21, 2017
Thomas Freeman Honors College 30th Anniversary Gala
Honors College Auditorium, 7:00 p.m.
RSVP by April 1 at 713-313-6725

Saturday, April 22, 2017
TSU Choir Concert Dress Rehearsal
Riverside United Methodist Church, 9:00 a.m. - Noon
4920 Cullen Blvd. Houston 77004
 

Sunday, April 23, 2017
TSU Choir annual Spring Concert
Riverside United Methodist Church, 4:00 p.m. 
4920 Cullen Blvd. Houston 77004

Saturday, April 29, 2017
A Maroon and Gray Affair
Marriott Marquis - Downtown Houston, 7:30 p.m. 
For sponsorship and ticket information call 713-313-1361

Sunday, April 30, 2017
Music and Morsels: An Alumni Reception
The Deluxe Theater, 4:00 p.m. - 5:30 p.m.
3303 Lyons Ave. Houston, 77020

Wednesday, May 3, 2017
Final Frenzy
Science Center Atrium, 5:00 pm. - 10:00 p.m.
Security escorts will be provided to dorms and parking garages

Saturday, May 13, 2017
Spring Commencement Exercises
H&PE Arena, 9:30 a.m. 

Monday, June 19 - Thursday, June 22, 2017
The C.S.I. Training and Educational Conference (CSITEC)
Forensic Science Learning Laboratory
For registration information email mozayania@tsu.edu or jasmine.drake@tsu.edu

Events listed here are as of January 2017. To have your event listed, please send information to Kendrick Callis (calliskd@tsu.edu) in the Office of Communications & Community Relations.

Appreciatively,

Eva Pickens