Faculty Senate
Quick Links
  - American Association of
  University Professors
  - Texas Faculty Association  
  - Texas Higher Education
  Coordinating Board
  - Texas Council of Faculty Senates  
  - Board of Regents  
  - Faculty Manifesto  
  - Promotion and Tenure Guidelines  

Recent News From The Faculty Senate
  • 2018 SPRING OPENING FACULTY MEETING Scheduled for Friday, January 12, 2018 in the College of Education Auditorium on the first floor.
  • 2017 UNIVERSITY COMMITTEES: Were confirmed by the Faculty Senate during the monthly Senate meeting held on Thursday, October 5, 2017.
  • 2017 AWARD RECIPIENTS: Congratulations to Faculty Senate General Counsel Dr. April Walker (Thurgood Marshall School of Law) received the Faculty Senate/Assembly Distinguished Service Award, and Faculty Senator Dr. Mario Hollomon (College of Science, Engineering and Technology) received the Faculty Senate/Assembly Years of Service Award.  Both honorees were presented with their awards by TSU President Austin Lane and Faculty Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard during the monthly Senate meeting held on Thursday, May 4, 2017. During the Spring Opening Faculty Meeting held on January 12, 2017, Dr. Henry North  (College of Education) received the Faculty Senate/Assembly Distinguished Service Award and Dr. McKen Carrington (Thurgood Marshall School of Law) received the Faculty Senate/Assembly Letter of Appreciation, which were presented by TSU Interim Provost Bobby Wilson and Faculty Senate Chair Rasoul Saneifard.
  • NEWLY ELECTED SENATORS TAKE OFFICE SEPTEMBER 1, 2017: Faculty Chairperson: Dr. Jafus Kenyatta Cavil (College of Education); Faculty Vice Chairperson: Dr. Edieth Wu (Thurgood Marshall School of Law); Faculty Secretary: Dr. Rasoul Saneifard (College of Science, Engineering and Technology); Faculty Treasurer: Dr. Olurominiyi Ibitayo (Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs); Faculty Parliamentarian: Dr. Mammo Woldie (Jesse H. Jones School of Business); Faculty Speaks Editor: Dr. Luis Perez-Feliciano (Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs).
TSU Faculty Manual Section I : Part I : Article I (Current)
The faculty of the University shall perform the following functions in regard to the academic operation of the university: approval of degrees; curriculum planning; determination of requirements for earned degrees; establishment of academic regulations, recommendation of candidates for appointment, tenure, retention, and promotion; participation in the selection and evaluation of academic administrators; and consider matters that affect the welfare of the members of the faculty.

The Faculty Assembly is the official policy making body of the Texas Southern University (TSU) faculty. It is the faculty's vehicle for participation in the shared governance of the university.

The recommendations of the Faculty Assembly are made to either the Provost or directly to the President of the University for appropriate action or for endorsement to the Texas Southern University Board of Regents. The Assembly may delegate such powers as it chooses to the Faculty Senate. All decisions and/or actions of the Faculty Senate, however, are subject to review, endorsement or repeal by the Faculty Assembly.

We're always trying to provide you with the best Faculty Representation, the kind that you deserve.
With this in mind, we have created some new things:

1. Open up the link below to find a How To Guide, narrated by your chair!
  - Faculty Manual - How-to-Guide

2. Faculty Senate meetings are held the first Thursday of every month during the academic year (September through May).  If the regular meeting day is a University holiday, the meeting shall convene on the following Thursday.