Division of Academic Affairs and Research
Division of Academic Affairs and Research

OFFICE OF THE PROVOST

I am pleased to welcome you to the Division of Academic Affairs and Research at Texas Southern University. The Provost serves as the chief academic officer of the university reporting directly to the President.

The Provost also has administrative oversight for research/scholarly activities, Libraries/Museums, Student Success Services and Institutional Assessment, Planning and Effectiveness on campus. Academic programs are offered in ten colleges and schools: College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences, Jesse H. Jones School of Business, College of Education, College of Continuing Education, The Graduate School, Thurgood Marshall School of Law, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, School of Science and Technology, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs and the School of Communications.

Together, these colleges and schools offer 53 baccalaureate degree programs, 36 master’s degree programs, three Doctor of Philosophy degree programs and three professional doctoral degrees in education, law and pharmacy. The wide variety of academic program offerings gives our diverse student body an excellent opportunity to learn from over 500 full-time dedicated faculty.

You are welcome to explore our academic programs of study and to contact my office if the need arises. Thank you.

Division of Academic Affairs and Research Organizational Chart
Opening Faculty Meeting Archive

Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs

 

Kendall Harris, Ph.D.

Kendall.Harris@tsu.edu (713) 313-1137

Interim Associate Provost/Associate Vice President for Academic and Faculty Affairs

 

Rasoul Saneifard, Ph.D.

saneifard_rx@tsu.edu (713) 313-7689

Associate Provost / Associate Vice President for Research

 

Vacant

-

-

Executive Assistant to the Provost

 

Cynthia Williams

williamscs@tsu.edu (713) 313-1136

Executive Director of Provost of Business Services

 

Charles Henry

henryce@tsu.edu (713) 313-4343

Ombudsperson and Director of Academic Retention Services 

 

Lori LaBrie

labrie_la@tsu.edu (713) 313-7040 

Faculty Ombudsperson

 

Carlton Perkins, Ph.D

perkinsc@tsu.edu (713) 313-7187 

Executive Director of Library Services

 

Janice L. Peyton, Ph.D.

Janice.Peyton@tsu.edu (713) 313-7885 

Executive Director of the Office of Continuing Education

 

Melanie Lawson, Ph.D.

Lawson_MW@TSU.EDU (713) 313-7762

Director of Center for Online Education and Instructional Teaching

 

Remi Ademola

AdemolaRA@tsu.edu (713) 313-4835

Acting Dean, Thurgood Marshall School of Law

 

Gary Bledsoe, JD

Gary.bledsoe2@tsu.edu  (713)-313-1071 

Dean, Roderick E. Paige College of Education

 

Lillian Poats, Ph.D.

poats_LB@tsu.edu  (713)-313-7978 

Interim Dean, College of Liberal Arts & Behavioral Sciences

 

Needha-Boutte Queen, Ph.D.

Needha.Boutte-Queen@tsu.edu  (713)-313-7662 

Interim Dean, College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences

 

Shirlette Milton, Ph.D.

milton_sg@tsu.edu    (713)-313-7551

Interim Dean, College of Science, Engineering, and Technology

 

Azime S. Saydam. Ph.D.

azime.saydam@tsu.edu  (713)-313-7007

Dean, Jesse H. Jones School of Business

 

Dr. Peter Aghimien, Ph.D.

 Peter.Aghimien@tsu.edu (713)-313-7663 

Dean, School of Communication

 

Maurice Odine, Ph.D.

m.odine@tsu.edu  (713)-313-7741

Interim Dean, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs

 

Theophilus Herrington, Ph.D.

Theo.herrington@tsu.edu  (713)-313-3326 

Dean, The Graduate School

 

Gregory H. Maddox, Ph.D.

Maddox_GH@tsu.edu (713)-313-7889 

Dean, Thomas F. Freeman Honors College

 

Dianne Jemison-Pollard, Ed.D., MFA

Jemison-Pollard_DF@tsu.edu  (713)-313-7139 

Assistant Provost
Academic Support & Online Learning

 

Dr. Chantell Link, Ph.D.

Chantell.link@tsu.edu  (713)-313-7602