I am pleased to welcome you to the Division of Academic Affairs and Research at Texas Southern University. The Provost serves as the chief academic officer of the university reporting directly to the President.

The Provost also has administrative oversight for research/scholarly activities, Libraries/Museums, Student Success Services and Institutional Assessment, Planning and Effectiveness on campus. Academic programs are offered in ten colleges and schools: College of Liberal Arts and Behavioral Sciences, Jesse H. Jones School of Business, College of Education, College of Continuing Education, The Graduate School, Thurgood Marshall School of Law, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, School of Science and Technology, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs and the School of Communications.

Together, these colleges and schools offer 53 baccalaureate degree programs, 36 master’s degree programs, three Doctor of Philosophy degree programs and three professional doctoral degrees in education, law and pharmacy. The wide variety of academic program offerings gives our diverse student body an excellent opportunity to learn from over 500 full-time dedicated faculty.

You are welcome to explore our academic programs of study and to contact my office if the need arises. Thank you.

Division of Academic Affairs and Research Organizational Chart
Opening Faculty Meeting Archive

Dean's Profile
Title Name Email (713)313-
Provost/Vice President for Academic Affairs

Kendall Harris, Ph.D. 1137
Interim Associate Provost/Associate Vice President for Academic and Faculty Affairs

Rasoul Saneifard, Ph.D. 7689
Associate Provost / Associate Vice President for Research




Executive Assistant to the Provost

Cynthia Williams 1136
Executive Director of Provost of Business Services

Charles Henry 4343
Ombudsperson and Director of Academic Retention Services 

Lori LaBrie 7040
Faculty Ombudsperson

Carlton Perkins, Ph.D 7187
Executive Director of Library Services

Janice L. Peyton, Ph.D. 7885
Executive Director of the Office of Continuing Education

Melanie Lawson, Ph.D.

Lawson_MW@TSU.EDU 7762
Director of Center for Online Education and Instructional Teaching

Remi Ademola 4835
Acting Dean, Thurgood Marshall School of Law

Gary Bledsoe, JD (713)-313-1071
Dean, College of Education

Lillian Poats, Ph.D. (713)-313-7978
Interim Dean, College of Liberal Arts & Behavioral Sciences

Needha-Boutte Queen, Ph.D. (713)-313-7662
Interim Dean, College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences

Shirlette Milton, Ph.D. (713)-313-7551
Interim Dean, College of Science, Engineering, and Technology

Azime S. Saydam. Ph.D. (713)-313-7007
Interim Dean, Jesse H. Jones School of Business

Dr. Claudius B. Claiborne (713)-313-7780
Interim Dean, School of Communication

Rockell Brown–Burton, Ph.D. (713)-313-4312
Interim Dean, Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School of Public Affairs

Theophilus Herrington, Ph.D. (713)-313-3326
Dean, The Graduate School

Gregory H. Maddox, Ph.D. (713)-313-7889
Dean, Thomas F. Freeman Honors College

Dianne Jemison-Pollard, Ed.D., MFA (713)-313-7139
Assistant Provost
Academic Support & Online Learning

Dr. Chantell Link, Ph.D. (713)-313-7602